Please Pray

We do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses . . . let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need. Hebrews 4:15-16

What do you say? I haven’t the words. I’m truly sorry. Incredibly insufficient though this feels, I am sorry. Inconceivable and incomprehensible, yet I find myself wanting answers. How could this happen? Why innocent children? Why now? Why? But there are no answers – no news will suffice in satiating the urge to make sense of this absolutely senseless catastrophe.

My heart aches for all parents, family members, community members, teachers, police officers and first responders . . . everyone struck by this horrific of all calamities. They are suffering. They are in need. In our own ways, we all are. Our hearts are burdened and in pain tonight.

Yet a hurting heart does little more than hurt. So I pray. Please join me.

“Almighty Father in Heaven, we have questions that have no answers. The victims of today’s events are hurting. You are hurting for these families as well. I don’t know how you’ll do it, but you promise to bring peace. Bring peace tonight. We look to you and ask for you comfort and protection. Help us to treasure each moment and each other. Amen.”

Leave a Reply

