Strong Weaknesses or Weak Strengths?

I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:10

How? I’m strong in my weakness? Given how weak I am, I must be pretty strong. This doesn’t make sense. When I am limited in some way, I don’t understand that to be a strength.

Perhaps we’ve struck upon the crux of the issue. The strength never originated within me. I’ve been thrust into countless situations in which I literally did not know what to say or do. I was beyond weak. Pathetic, really. After a quick prayer, I’d timidly traipse toward a friend who needed something I could not provide. Strength.

You’d think this is a recipe for disaster. I sure did. But it wasn’t. From somewhere well outside of myself came strength and peace I can’t begin to understand. The right words spoken to give hope and comfort. The strength of Christ made perfect in my significant weakness.

Jesus, I am weak; be my strength. Amen.

Leave a Reply

