Standing By

See how the farmer waits for the precious fruit of the earth, being patient about it. You also, be patient. Establish your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is at hand. James 5:7-8

For many, the most mutinous of all virtues is patience. Who has time for such nonsense? We have places to be (five minutes ago); people to see (on the other side of town); and no shortage of things to do (that really should have been done yesterday). Get out of my way. Give me the wonder drug and heal me quickly. Solve my problems by the most perfunctory means possible.

To a people with no time speaks the One who holds time in His caring hands: be patient. Trust me. Relax. I will gladly guard you while guiding your course. I am right here for you. Standing by at all times for you. Loving you eternally. Try patience. Try resting in the Lord. He promises to care for you. Trust Him.

Jesus, teach me patience. Amen.

 

2 thoughts on “Standing By

Leave a Reply

