How to be a Really, Really, Truly Genuinely Authentic Christian

Let love be genuine. Romans 12:9

You can hardly read a contemporary Christian book without choking down the words “genuine” or “authentic”. A common verb nearly always precedes these two adjectives: be. This strikes me as disingenuous and lacking authenticity from the word go. Why would a genuinely authentic person require admonition to be genuine? The very act of attempting to be genuine is by its nature not genuine. Furthermore, what in the world do you mean telling me to be authentically Christian? I didn’t make myself a Christian; that was the Holy Spirit’s work.

So here I stand. I am a Christian, authenticated by the shed blood and broken body of my Lord Jesus Christ. I am genuinely loved by the One who laid down His life for me. So are you! Don’t ever let the Christian catch-phrases of the day convince you otherwise. If you love someone, it’s genuine. If you don’t, you should ask yourself “why not” and work it out.

Jesus, thanks for genuine love. Amen.

 

2 thoughts on “How to be a Really, Really, Truly Genuinely Authentic Christian

Leave a Reply

