Why Did Jesus Die?

He died for all, that those who live might no longer live for themselves but for him who for their sake died and was raised. 2 Corinthians 5:15

That Christ’s death and resurrection not be in vain, let us understand fully why He did it. Without the resurrection, I am unable to live for Jesus. In favor of a “Jesus saved me from my sins so who cares what I do” false religion, the idea of living for Christ has become massively warped. Should I give this the slightest thought, I tend to center on my prayers, my worship, my devotion time. Little do I concern myself with the cares and affairs of those around me.

And this is where I miss one of the main points of the resurrection. Living for Christ is being Christ to my neighbor. Their burdens are my burdens. When people need my time and talent, I avail myself. Jesus’ resurrection has given us life for others.

Jesus, resurrect me to live for you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

