Growing Up

Be not wise in your own eyes; fear the Lord, and turn away from evil. Proverbs 3:7

Mom was created to give me love and affection and make me sandwiches. Dad was created to provide for me and throw the ball around a bit in the backyard. Siblings were created for my in-home companionship. Trees were created for me to climb. Food was created to satisfy my hunger, so long as it tastes good. Clothes were created to make me look cool. This world was created for me; therefore it revolves around me.

Such beliefs epitomize childish wisdom and in actuality are foolish. Most grow beyond such a self-centered existence, although later it seems than past generations. For most, the older we get, the wiser we become. Wise people realize we have very little actually figured out. When we realize this, we have two choices: fake it or rely on the One who is Wisdom itself – our Lord Jesus Christ.

Jesus, replace my selfishness with wisdom from on high.

One thought on “Growing Up

Leave a Reply

