God shows His love

“God shows His love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8)

Daily Lenten Reading: Romans 5:6-9

A farmer often visited a grave near Nashville, TN. The cemetery caretaker noticed the man’s frequent visits and asked, “Why do you pay so much attention to this grave? Was your son buried here?”

“No,” the farmer responded. “During the war, my family were all sick. I was drafted, but I could not leave my wife and children. One of my neighbors came over and said, ‘I will go for you; I have no family.’  He went in my place. He was seriously wounded and taken to the hospital but soon died. I come here often to remember this simple truth,                      ‘He died for me …'”

“Perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die,” Paul writes (Rom. 5:7). That’s love!  But God shows His love, not by dying for “good people,” but by dying for us, for poor, miserable, sinners.

Father, thank You for Your undeserved love!  Help me remember this simple truth, “Christ died for me.” Amen. 

(The story is found in Catechetical Helps for a New Day, p. 114.)

Leave a Reply

